Catch up

July 4, 2011


Looking back

I’m on university holidays now and damn is it good. I’ve been hammering along on my truck and it’s getting nearer to start up time! I haven’t been taking any progress photos and was going to do that today but instead spent the day assembling the BP 1800 engine for Nick’s Miata.

The tunnel was finished, all sealed up and primered when I went to build the exhaust and found that the exhaust tunnel I made next to it was a touch small for the 2.5″ tube  at the gearbox cross member. I unwillingly cut into it and built a bulge around it so now it fits no problems. I have used the factory cast exhaust manifold and modified the 2 into 1 section and the collector to fit the small sunny. It’s never nice to do something that you know you will be redoing later but I don’t have the time to build a proper manifold right now and I just want to get it running already!

The pedal box has been done for some time now but I pulled it apart, cut a notch for the line to pass through and painted it recently; it’s now ready for plumbing. The outlet of the civic radiator I’m using has been angled and I have mounted and mostly plumbed it using a mix and match pair of hoses. A sheet metal shroud is on the list to make sure it does it’s best. I’ve had to redo the rear brake line because of the larger tunnel as well as run new feed and return lines for fuel. They are mostly done but I need to pull the SR (for the hundredth time) to finish the engine bay portions. I cannot remember if I ever posted it but I got the drive shaft shortened a while back so the drive train is all done too.

I still need to buy a few things, clutch and line, battery, fluids, mufflers etc but funds are low so hopefully it doesn’t hold me back to long. I’m sure you’ve noticed I have been posting other’s Datsuns as of late. It started because of the ease of doing so when studying but now that I’m working on the Sunny again it’s been great motivation! I’m still taking and processing photos but most of my focus is on this little truck so hopefully we’ll both see more photos of it going soon enough. For some of my latest film work check out my photography blog here or the facebook page I started recently. There’s a few track days coming up soon and we’re all working fast to get there, hope to see you all there but for now, I’m going for a surf.

3 Responses to “Catch up”

  1. sunnyb110 said

    great news chris and motivation for me too :D im building my 1200 ute but with 4age engine also want to know from what car is that front lip?????

  2. anth said

    this pleases me

  3. adam said

    GREAT TO HEAR YOUR TURNING THE TOOLS AGAIN ON THE SUNNY TRUCK!!! LOOK FWDS TO SEEING IT…

Leave a Reply

