MEREMERE IN DECEMBER 2011

December 18, 2011

We went out to a private track day at Meremere yesterday with fingers crossed it wasn’t going to pour down all day. It got a bit wet at times but for the most part it was dry and super fun with only a handful of people on the track at once. Nicks NA6 has seen a tonne of track time lately and it’s starting to show on that front bumper. It’s well overdue for a clean up and for the 1800 to go in but with lots of track days coming up I’m unsure if it will get much attention, this car is for driving.

Keisuke came down with us and with an practically stock 16V it was an almost perfect match for some tandems, although the 4AGE is noticeably faster than the B6. I shot a load of video for Nick over the day so he could see what he looks like driving (no one’s really videoing much lately?) so I will put together a rough edit at some point.

I put down the camera for about 40 minutes in the middle of the day and took the NA6 out on the full track, working on someone else’s cars has its perks! I’m still amazed how fun it is for how little is done, although Keisuke’s 86 is much easier to drift (thanks dude). It took me a while to get used to limiting the speed to keep it sliding but once I did I got smoother fairly quickly and it felt much less forced. Nick’s getting a lot better with all the seat time and had full track manjis pretty locked by the end of the day. A little more power and it’ll be able to comfortably do the hairpin and link it with the rest of the track.

The drift area is actually the braking area of a drag strip and having only one corner can get kinda boring near the end of the day. To have a bit of fun I was pushing Keisuke and Nick to sit on full lock as they passed me for a few BILSPEER propaganda shots and they came out pretty cool.

Somehow I still managed to shoot way to much out there so there is still lots to come. I can’t wait to be driving instead so I don’t have to go through 18GB of media. Currently working as much as I can to afford the next stage of the build as well as a surf trip in February. Stay tuned.

2 Responses to “MEREMERE IN DECEMBER 2011”

  1. Henry said

    Thanks for the bunch of Nicks NA6 lately Chris. I am in love with it ! My inspiration

  2. […] photos of Nick from this December. More here and here It can be a total ass to try keep photos looking consistent when you shoot over a whole […]

Leave a Reply

