IAN’S DATSUN SANCTUARY

April 28, 2012


When I was in Australia this February I caught up with Ian, a good mate of mine who just so happens to be a Datsun nerd like myself. Between him and his dad he has 3 Datsun 1000s and 3 Datsun 1200 coupes including a rally modified one. Much to my delight we went out to the ‘shed’, which may I add is amazing, and cut up the floor of the KB10 on the hoist to fit a fuel cell. It is being built with the engine which used to be in Ian’s street car, a modified A15 which he let me drive a few years ago around the hills in Wollongong.

We hung out, drunk beer, ate pizza and I became familiar with a car I have been lusting over for years, the Datsun 1000 coupe. I rang out the little A10 in the KB10 in the last photo around the block and fell in love. One day I will own one of these cars! I’d just like to note a practical point: Datsun 1000s don’t have chassis rails running down the floor pan, the rails over the rear axles are perfect for notching and slamming out the front transverse leaf suspension is easy as anything… just saying.

Cheers Ian, can’t wait to build Datsuns with you again one day!







5 Responses to “IAN’S DATSUN SANCTUARY”

  1. These are very lovely shots =)

  2. nice shots, the white one looks like it needs a to come home with me..

  3. Chompy said

    Were you brave enough to tell them you’ve actually defected to a primera? ^_^ Nice shots!!!

  4. dang..airlines taking all the fun out-a things..

Leave a Reply

