MT WELLINGTON – NOV 24 2012 – II

January 23, 2013

I just realised I never got around to posting any photos from the Sunday racing in November! That… was a very good weekend.
The Saturday was the North Island series round which I managed pole position in B grade but wasn’t able to convert it into a win up against Dean Miller on a 70cc water cooled 2 stroke Derbi (who’s also a very smooth rider!). I got 3rd, 2nd and 7th (if I recall correctly) when I stalled on the grid, I was definitely too eager to get ahead of Dean.

The Sunday was a 40 lap race for anyone who didn’t have a partner or didn’t desire to compete in the 2 hour endurance race. Since I didn’t have a partner and I knew how large the field was (stuffed full of incredibly fast riders) I decided to give the 40 lap race a go. My riding fitness isn’t quite what it should be and my arms were stuffed after riding hard for approximately a half hour. The race wasn’t what it should have been with many quick riders who usually race in the grade going for the 2 hour. I took out first place however, and at the same time, my first motorcycle win, stoked.

So now I’ve moved out of the frying pan and into the fire as they say as I put myself into A grade. There is a meeting this weekend at Mt Wellington and with my bike running better than it did I’m eager to get my knee down on the floor where it belongs.

CLICK HERE FOR A VIDEO FROM THE 2 HOUR ENDURANCE RACE

Dean Miller and myself onto the grid straight

It was a le mans start too by the way, really challenging!

Leave a Reply

