North Island Round 5 – Te Puke

March 23, 2013

My dad and I went down to Te Puke – pronounced tee pokee not puke ie vomit – for the fifth round in the north island F4 series the other weekend. To say it was a great event is an understatement! I spent Friday night after work and Saturday morning building a new/quieter exhaust so I didn’t get black flagged. We arrived at Te Puke around mid day and jumped straight into practice then qualifying. I set a horrible qualifying time due to never having seen the track before, loosing out on the first practice session and a tune that wasn’t playing fun with the new exhaust set up.

Super solid weekend, cheers again to everyone who helped out, organised and drank beers with us.

Reagan put in a ridiculous 42.955s lap, brian broke two bikes after qualifying third and pushed the FXR over the line, I got smoked by B grade half due to a ill tuned bike (other half cos I suck), Warrick fended his son Josh off until he conceded (that would have been an amusing drive home), I believe Mel got her knee down, Will stepped up the pace in B grade, the track was bone dry and fun as hell…

… aaannnddd my old man took some photos of us. Cheers dad. A successful first away meeting for myself and I can’t wait for the next one.

Leave a Reply

