GP125 Seat

July 7, 2013

To be perfectly honest I had completely given up on this frame. With the engine in pieces and being worked on for my RS125/GP125 swap, this bike no longer has a heart.

I’ve always loved the simplicity of classic flat top frame bikes and after my usual internet trawl of delicious bikes this week, things started to brew again. I cut the end off the frame to shorten up the working area and started playing with a template for a steel seat. With no real intention to build something permanent I got to this point and I’m wondering if I should progress with it, I kind of like it. It’s not perfect as I didn’t intend it to be used and I don’t have any real sheet metal working tools (folder, band saw, roller etc) so I had to be a bit creative with some thick steel and some g-clamps.

I do have a gripe on the GP125s styling. The tank side profile is fairly nice on the eye but it’s chubby. If I was really keen/wreckless I’d cut about 80mm out of it’s width and follow suit with the tail piece but… I’m not to fond of the idea of cutting and welding a fuel tank.

On the RS/GP front, I have ordered a small dentist drill and some carbine tip burrs to port the 2 stroke cylinder. Otherwise, I’m just waiting really.

One Response to “GP125 Seat”

  1. Ryan Lewis said

    I really like it. Matches well with the tank.

Leave a comment