New wheels

January 17, 2009

I’ve been sitting on these steelies for ages now. Glad I bought them really. Decided I better get some tyres on for the meet and make em fit. Managed to get some 175/50/13’s in a Sime Astar and get them fitted.
Tyrebusters stepped up to the plate. I rekon because they were originally a 13×4 and have been banded to 13×8, the bead seat was so small it was a kent to get the tyre to fit.

175/50/13 onto a 13×8 -14

Tried the donut and failed. Was a 14 one which was probably its downfall

Tried the donut and failed. Was a 14" one which was probably it's downfall

I chuckled when the bead blaster failed too

I chuckled when the bead blaster failed too

Pop, shes on

Pop, shes on

 ^ Ended up using a 12″ tyre tube to bead the rear, removing tube and placing tyre on larger tyre. Stand on centre and inflate. Done

So, I suppose you want a on car photo don’t you.

First I decided to paint the two superlites I have on it and touch up the steelies.

First I decided to paint the two superlites I have on it and touch up the steelies.

Gone is that polished lip I sat there polishing for countless hours

The only photo I got of it at the meet

The only photo I got of it at the meet

As I said in the meet post, I got a larger set of blocks for the rear to lower it a bit more. Need to cut off and reweld the coilover seat on the front to match. They don’t rub at all, well only getting into my horrid driveway. Much work ahead of me, if it doesn’t drag or rub somewhere, you’re doing it wrong. Stay tuned for more pics and hopefully a lowering update.

-Chris

5 Responses to “New wheels”

  1. kyteler said

    Those the steelies from me, man? I demand better photo’s showing the dish from the rear! DEMAND I TELLS YA!

  2. kyteler said

    The width of a rim is measured from the bead not the outer edges, I was fairly sure they measured 7.5″ from bead edge to bead edge and then 8″ from outer lip to lip. Whatever the case though, they’re a nicely wide wheel for a 13″ rim and they look magic on that Sunny truck of yours!

    Also, whilst I’m here commenting, could you adapt your link to RC so it’s to blog.retro-classics.co.nz/ that way I can see when someone clicks it from your site, which seems to happen at relative frequency on the last wordpress address.

  3. cheater5 said

    Yep, measured from bead to bead, 8″. Was originally a 13×4 with a 4″ band. So glad I jumped on them when you put them up. Hopefully get it lower sometime soon.

    No worries dude, will do.

  4. Josh said

    That looks fuckin bad man. I love it.
    It was cool on the fins, but now its on a whole different planet.

    So jap.

Leave a comment