Rising Sunny drag car

January 17, 2009

It’s quite easy to forget that being accross the world in another country and even more so, a language barrier, that we can miss quite a few things. I’m talking ofcourse of us “westerners” missing out on some really good coverage of some Japanese cars. Without this coverage from western blogs, magazines, websites, forums and countless photographers in Japan, we’d be blind in a sea of amazing Japanese metal.

I’m on quite a few Datsun forums, 1200 ones mostly and I have seen it before but I have never seen it discussed or even mentioned before on any western forums.

What am I on about? I’m on about this particular B110 sedan drag car built by Rising. The only time i’ve ever seen it is in 2 pictures off Auto Otaku and posted on Speedhunters by the same person, Mike Garrett . It is, with large understatement an amazing drag car. Now let me say I’m not usually a big fan of drag racing as a hole but come on, look at this thing.

Thanks Mike for the photos, someone has to do it

Powered by a 3SGTE, it’s hardly a 1200 anymore. The only thing I can say that comes close is Mr Harvey’s SR20DET powered KB110 (NZ).


3SGTE

http://www.rising-web.jp/08machines/08machines_frame.html

They have a few other radicle drag cars, hows a zed powered by a VH45? Or a R32 or R34?

Your ear to the ground
– Chris

2 Responses to “Rising Sunny drag car”

  1. dirtyleppa said

    this this is awesome. i saw some of the build photos and the attention to detail and quality of workmanship is 2nd to none, fullstop

  2. […] Rising Sunny X2 5 04 2009 A while ago I did a quick write up on some photos I had found on the Rising sunny drag car. What a car it is. See that post here: LINK […]

Leave a comment