Flyrat Excellent

July 16, 2009

Some might know I have a large soft spot for 120ys but the coupes in general really melt me. They look like an edged cockroach/beetle thing in standard form but fit some small, wide wheels and bring the chassis closer to earth and you have something special. You cannot help but love them, so completely 70’s Japanese it hurts.

This isn’t any normal 120y coupe however, this is an Excellent and not just in a positive term. The excellent, amoung other trim mods and so forth came out with the L-Series over the A-Series. The extra torque of the L was no doubt on the minds of the engineers and would definitely be a bunch of fun in this small car.

Flyrat has it’s hands on this excellent, and I wouldn’t pass up the opportunity to turn the wheel myself,

The L4 stuffed under the bonnet with a few extras hanging off it, such a good combo.

I think one of the main reasons the B210 coupes bar me up so much is that side profile; mmmmmmm.

Not a bad ass either, tail in the air and all. Round lights don’t do it so much for me, however the little bumpers and hatch brings it back.

I hope that slowly some of you 120y haters are coming around.

Flyrat

– Chris

6 Responses to “Flyrat Excellent”

  1. disco bob said

    RAD

  2. kyteler said

    Ah, the mighty Sunny Excellent. Sold in South Africa as the 140Z. I would love one, they’re a sleek looking machine that as you say, just need some decent wheels and to be closer to the pavement. I think it’s the rear lamps that put them above the contemporary KB210’s

  3. HoTWire said

    How much heavier is the L4 lump than the more standard A?

  4. disco bob said

    I beleive they have a cast iron head not alloy!

  5. sanitora said

    that would be gun to drive! many smiles… best one ive seen… thanks…

  6. […] the Flyrat 120y coupe? Hello […]

Leave a comment